Spirit of Thankfulness.

I woke up this Sunday morning wanting to do a devotional but couldn’t find the words or inspiration for one. I went down to eat breakfast with my dad and then came back up to my room to start cleaning and get ready for church. As I’m cleaning, I’m listening to the praise and worship playlist on my laptop (I’ll share it with you guys one day) and the song named “Withholding Nothing” by William Mcdowell comes on and I tears begin to fall from my eyes. I suddenly felled overwhelmed by the presence of God and I couldn’t help but kneel down and just thank the Lord. The only words my soul would allow me to say to God was just Thank you. I’ve never felt something like that before.The presence of the Lord was so strong in my heart that I just had to thank Him for everything.

God put in my heart to share with you all, that many times we are going through tough situations and we forget to thank Him for all that He has done. Those hardships we go through? They strengthen us. Those obstacles that we face? They teach us persistence. Those tears we shed? Reveal to us that God catches each one of them in His divine hands. There is not one thing in this life that is not here or done to give us strength in God and reveal to us that He has everything under control.We go about our day many times like its just another day, nothing special about it, but that’s where we are wrong. Each day is a new day to thank God, because if it was not for Him, we would not have food to eat everyday, warm water to bathe with, a bed to sleep on, and a roof to protect us. It is because of God that we are here. And because of He is God, we need to thank him. He has the power to do many things regarding punishment to us because of the way that we are with Him. He created us and yet we are such ungrateful beings with Him.

Today God wants to remind you to be thankful for what you and who you have.

I challenge to take out 15 minutes in your day today to sit and contemplate everything He has done for you and just thank Him with the deepest sincerity from your heart.

Leave a comment